Archive for the ‘Advertising’ Category
Provillus at it Again
Ok, ive been doing research into Avacor and their alleged false or misleading advertising the web talks talks about and honestly, nowhere on their website nor on their radio commercial ive heard do they do anything near the stuff the web talks about. maybe they did in the past, but clearly, they are not doing it now. which brings me to my real point. you want to go after scumbags, go after provillus. now they have a 4th – count them 4th – fake blog up. this one wants you to trust a made up guy named Daniel. here is the link:
http://trustdaniel.com/Provillus/
DO NOT FALL FOR THIS CRAP. the fact that they have the cash to spend on yet another blog and adwords to pump up the blog’s traffic, etc shows that far too many people are believing their deceptive advertising techniques.
I did notice that since ive started to call them out, they have added a disclaimer to all these fake peoples’ fake blogs: “regard everything i write as satire and stories. you could be crazy if you believe me.” yes mr. fake blog person, we would be out of our minds crazy to believe the crap you have on your fake blog.
Trust Michael? Trust Sean? Trust Justin? How About Trust None of the Above!
ok if this isnt enough to prove my earlier point about provillus and their parent company, that they are deceivers, I dont know what will be.
Remember Trust Michael? Well, Michael is now Justin, as well as Sean. Check out these links.
This company isnt even trying anymore. They are just blatantly trying to deceive consumers. The pictures? All the same. The beginning sentence of the fake blogs? All the same. Even the first three commenters on each of the sites is exactly the same and says the same crap, substituting “Provillus” with “Smoke Detector” and substituting “Michael” with “Sean” or “Justin”. The funny thing is, on trustmichael.com, the commenters still call him Justin!
Dont fall for these scams. And more importantly, if a company is willing to go to these lengths to deceive, do you think they sell a product worth anything?
More on Provillus
These guys are a trip. Not only are they aggressively pushing all these fake blogs out there to make you guys believe their product works, but they are also pushing out all these fake blogs so that they bury all the negative reviews about them. Well…
I went to the Better Business Bureau site and did a search for provillus, and what came up was this:
Ultra Herbal, LLC
Provillus
350 N Glenoaks Blvd
Burbank, CA 91502
If you click on that link, you can see that people really think provillus works – oh wait, thats not true at all. The BBB rate Ultra Herbal with a big fat ‘F’. The nature of Ultra Herbal’s business according to the BBB site? The sale of products to stop smoking…
Also, check ultraherbal.com – dick cream, weight loss crap, etc. IMO just another company trying to convince the uneducated to buy their crap.
ok, i promise my next post wont be about provillus. its just so frustrating finding all this false information about provillus when all i want to know is the facts…
Provillus’ shady advertising practices
So, as I hinted in my first post, I want my blog to be fair. As I searched around for hair regrowth products, I found I was reading the same names over and over – rogaine, provillus, scalp med, and procerin to name a few. There are probably a couple more out there, but I cant remember their names off the top of my head. Well, as I was researching these products to see what they are about, I came across an advertising strategy designed to siphon consumers away from its competitors and direct them towards one product in particular through the maintenance of “blogs” that, to the untrained internet user, promote themselves as real people, who experienced real results…
The product? Provillus. The shady strategy? Provillus is buying its competitors names as keywords, placing ads like “Is [product name] a scam”? and “Considering [product name]? linked to blogs by what they want you to believe are real people, but they are not real people. The proof? Lets take a look.
1) The ads – no matter what hair regrowth product you search for, one of the two above ads will appear. Here is what I saw when I googled some of the more popular hair regrowth products – notice the similarity:



2) The blogs – each of these ads links to a fake persons’ blog: Balding Tony, Trust Michael, Honest Johnathan, Charles Campbell – all sites maintained by provillus to deceive consumers into thinking that they are real people who have tried most of the hair regrowth products out there and have had the best results with provillus. How do I know this? A couple of reasons. First, all the sites are designed exactly the same way and each of these “people” recommend the same thing. Second, there are others who share the same thought on these blogs as myself:
http://blog.americanhairloss.org/hair-loss/phoney-blogs-promote-questionable-hair-loss-products/
http://www.baldingblog.com/2005/12/16/provillus/
Third, these “blogs” are never updated and use code that automatically updates the date of the post to reflect the day of the visit. Fourth, the source code of these pages gives it away – the pages have tracking code with Provillus all over it. Fifth, why in the world would “Tony” “Johnathan” and “Charles” pay to be listed high in google ads for these products??
The bottom line? Dont fall for this deceptive advertising practices. Id think people are smart enough to figure out that these “blogs” are nothing more than an attempt by Provillus to deceive people into thinking their product is better than their competitors, but I know that is not true. Dont fall for the crap out there…do your own research to find out what products work and what doesnt. Never take anyones advice over scientific fact.